[INTERVIEW] 120131 KBS Global – Kim Junsu: ‘The Role That Has No Correct Answer Attracts Me’

Kim Junsu will play the role of Tod in the Musical “Elizabeth.”

The musical “Elizabeth” is based on a true life story of Austria’s Empress Elizabeth, and the other protagonist besides Elizabeth is Tod, which is the personified character of death. “Tod,” who met Elizabeth when she was young, fell in love with her and came to stay right beside her during her lifetime while tempting her. Elizabeth, who came to be destined to live in the cage of the palace even though she had been pursuing her free life and love, became weakened by Tod’s temptations.

Rookie musical actor and star idol group member Kim Junsu of JYJ will challenge himself by playing the difficult role of Tod. Kim Junsu reportedly worried very much when was first asked to play the role, regarding whether he could play the role very well or not. Kim said, “Doing something that I want to do and something that I can do is another story. I thought that ‘Death’ has to be grave and dignified, and the actor who plays this role has to have enough acting experience. I agonized greatly whether I could successfully play the role. But I realized that ‘death’ does not exist and there will be no correct answer.” He explained that he decided to play the character because he would present something that does not exist. Kim continued, “The head of our agency asked me, ‘Why do you think that the character should be dignified even though it does not exist?’ After I listened to his question, I realized that it could be young or innocent, and I decided to present ‘Death’ my own way, according to how I think.”

His own thoughts on death have also changed from vague ideas of “What is after death?” and “Do I really die someday?” to a more concrete definition, in which is, “Death is something that makes people feel that they are only human who inevitably die, which makes people feel miserable.” Before he creates the image of “death,” he thought about how Elizabeth thinks and feels before “death.” Five actors who will play death and Elizabeth and the director discussed together. Kim Junsu said, “Death asked Elizabeth what ‘death’ meant to her, and she answered that she, who had been dreaming of free life, felt pessimistic when she became the empress. I thought that ‘death’ might have brought her a kind of freedom, comfort, and peace.”

The character of “Death” will be played by Kim Junsu in his twenties, Song Chang Ui in his thirties, and Ryu Jeong Han in his forties. The three actors have different charms and different experiences, and their ways of presenting the same character might be different. Kim Joon Soo hinted that the character death that will be played by three different actors will be varied in their costumes and hairstyles, and he will present dancing more than the other two actors. He did not lose his courage in a situation where he had to appear with other veteran actors, but he said confidently, “Watching different acting by different actors who play the same character is a very exciting element and the power of the musical.” He also said confidently that he could use the best of his weak and husky voice to play his character. He seemed to be free from the restraint of an actor who came from an idol group. Kim said, “I knew that some people criticized me that I had been cast as the protagonist only because I came from a star idol group, and I had been very cautious. I did not know about musicals at all when I appeared in the musical ‘Mozart’ as the protagonist, but musicals gave me strength and hope when I had gone through a very difficult situation, so I do not want to give up appearing in musicals. Now I only think that I have to repay the audience and the producer who have shown trust to me. It is true that I come from a idol group, and I am trying my best to change people’s prejudice about me. I want to be regarded as a musical actor who really loves musicals.”

Credit: KBS Global
Shared byJYJ3

32 thoughts on “[INTERVIEW] 120131 KBS Global – Kim Junsu: ‘The Role That Has No Correct Answer Attracts Me’

    • REPOST >>> Sorry posted this in GAP before ADMIN posted it here…
      What a fantastic interview!
      Junsu’s responses were wonderful and as always reveal how truly deep his thoughts have always been. Here are my favorite parts… sorry i know I’m just repeating.. can’t help myself.

      1. “Kim said, “Doing something that I want to do and something that I can do is another story.” (I like his humilty..)

      2. “Kim Joon Soo hinted that the character death that will be played by three different actors will be varied in their costumes and hairstyles, and he will present dancing more than the other two actors…” (naturally…:)

      3. “Watching different acting by different actors who play the same character is a very exciting element and the power of the musical.” (Junsu shows respect for his seniors)

      4.. ” … but musicals gave me strength and hope when I had gone through a very difficult situation, so I do not want to give up appearing in musicals. Now I only think that I have to repay the audience and the producer who have shown trust to me. It is true that I come from a idol group, and I am trying my best to change people’s prejudice about me. I want to be regarded as a musical actor who really loves musicals.”
      (I am so happy Junsu found his niche, and a place to share his amazing special talents)

      BRAVO Junsu! Great interview!

  1. “Kim said, “I knew that some people criticized me that I had been cast as the protagonist only because I came from a star idol group, and I had been very cautious. I did not know about musicals at all when I appeared in the musical ‘Mozart’ as the protagonist, but musicals gave me strength and hope when I had gone through a very difficult situation, so I do not want to give up appearing in musicals. Now I only think that I have to repay the audience and the producer who have shown trust to me. It is true that I come from a idol group, and I am trying my best to change people’s prejudice about me. I want to be regarded as a musical actor who really loves musicals.” i just so proud with Junsu and JYJ ..The boys they really mature, deep..they know exact what are they doing and word hard to their goal..they win pps heart with their real talent and their personality..wish you the best Junsu!!

  2. thank you. i love what he says. he is so mature and being able to appear in musicals is helping him grow in many areas and become even more awesome!

  3. This was another wonderful interview with Junsu! I just love him to dealth! He is such a warm, passionate and wonderful person! I am so happy he found something else that makes him very happy!

  4. there are subbed videos of Elisabeth musical on YT, which i really recommend to watch 🙂
    i thought it was deep, touching, and sooooooo tragic 😦 such a good musical tho…
    i like that junsu grows in each musical and how he’s giving his roles so much thought. he loves what he’s doing and it shows ^^

  5. Wonderful interview. Way to go, Junsu! I have to drag myself just to focus on good news about our boys. This one makes my day. Today i hope there will be more good news,, i’m excited!!

  6. Another great interview with our precious men.Su-ah,just be yourself,ur greatest self and that is the best for u n for those who truly love u.I love you,just the way you are,like the way you being imperfect and trying to be achieve ur best.I love you.

  7. This interview is great. I’ve noticed how Junsu always speaks so well in interviews, he always knows what he is talking about and gives the best answers. I would quote my favourite parts of the interview but there was just too many XD
    I loved how he said he was confident about his “weak and husky” voice for the role of Death because I thought the same thing! A husky voiced death is kinda perfect and sexy IMO
    Love you Junsu!

  8. love you susu baby
    ” change peoples prejudice against me ” aw hurt my heart this sentence but he’s brave i hope his feelings never got hurt thought i think he must have hurt noticing others dislike him around the musical stage for being and idol, that’s so wrong he is an artist first , second his major in the university is musicals, so he has total right to be there and he is so not an idol. not saying there’s anything wrong with being an idol but he write and sings his own music like too love and you are so beautiful he makes these songs for dramas that’s what an artist does he creates and that what JYJ proved to be when they made their albums that contained mostly self made music. anyway i can imagine him sucking up the hurtful stares and whispers he got during rehearsals or when he went to musical awards but smiled non the less and concentrated on his work instead i’m proud of him for not being effected and put down by others way ago susuah always concentrate on ur work and don’t mind others negative opinions don’t let anyone put u down and discourage u ever never ever so u can be happy and successful and we see u happy and successful Amen (squishy hugs her baby susu) i love you Junsu #.# girls please learn from him, don’t ever let anyone put you down and discourage you everyone beeeeeeeeeeeee haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaappy #.#

  9. My baby Junsu has grown up into an excellent musical actor…..so proud of my baby….*teary*….Come here my love, let noona hugs you tightly, to release this excessive feeling of being so proud of you….^___^

  10. Junsu’s heart is as good as gold! He’s very self-aware and tuned into the negativity that’s around him but he knows not to let it get to him. Junsus’ confidence and faith will carry him through what ever comes. The Last Dance is YOURS Junsu!!!

  11. “I want to be regarded as a musical actor who really loves musicals”

    we knew and we know : you are musical actor and you are love musics
    keep the good word, and be happy with everything you got.

  12. “It is true that I come from a idol group, and I am trying my best to change people’s prejudice about me. I want to be regarded as a musical actor who really loves musicals.”
    There is a lot of prejudice about idols, not only in musicals, but also in dramas or movies…but i think that Junsu is making a big change in the musical industry, just looking some other idols that tried acting in musicals…. Junsu is for sure the most sucefull one…. a lot of people in the musical industry have said that the had prejudices about idols but Junsu changed their minds, hes just that awesome and talented. Junchan, keep working hard, you are doing and excellent work, and im sure that u will be an amazing and respected musical actor in the future. GO FOR IT JUNSU!!!!

Leave a Reply

