[NEWS] 120208 Park Yoochun was approached to act in MBC’s ‘The Moon That Embraces the Sun’

Can You Imagine “The Moon that Embraces the Sun” without Kim Soo Hyun?

Currently, MBC’s “The Moon that Embraces the Sun” is on its way to becoming the next “National Drama” with ratings almost surpassing 40% nationwide. The intriguing plot, amazing soundtrack, good-looking cast, and strong acting are just several reasons as to why the drama is so popular. “The Moon that Embraces the Sun” catapulted Kim Soo Hyun’s career, making him a household name and throwing almost much of the drama’s female viewers into a “Kim Soo Hyun syndrome.” However, it’s been belatedly revealed that Kim Soo Hyun was not the drama’s producers’ first choice for the male lead.

“The Moon that Embraces the Sun” is based on a novel by Jung Eun Gwol, who’s past work includes 2010’s popular series “Sungkyunkwan Scandal.” As a result, the drama received much attention even in the pre-production stages. Poducers ran into difficulty in casting its male lead. They needed an actor who was in his mid-twenties, who could handle a sageuk (historical drama) and had the ability to draw out Lee Hwon’s distinctive characteristics and personality, all the while charming the viewers with his looks and acting.

Producers sent requests to “The Princess’s Man’s” Park Shi Hoo,” “Sungkyunkwan Scandal’s” Park Yoo Chun (JYJ)Song Joong Ki, and other young actors who had experience with sageuks. However, all of them had other projects lined up. They also eyed “Dream High’s” Kim Soo Hyun but had trouble coming to an agreement with his agency. He was on the verge of being crossed off the list of possible candidates. 

However, it was Kim Soo Hyun who insisted that he wanted the role. A representative of Key East Entertainment stated, “Even before the casting request came in, Kim Soo Hyun had read and enjoyed the original novel tremendously. When the deal almost fell apart, he was the one who said, ‘I really want to do it,” and got the part.”

Meanwhile, “The Moon that Embraces the Sun” will air its eleventh episode tonight, February 8, on MBC at 9:55PM KST. Check out the preview here! 

Credit: Soompi | Shared by: JYJ3

45 thoughts on “[NEWS] 120208 Park Yoochun was approached to act in MBC’s ‘The Moon That Embraces the Sun’

  1. i cannot imagine moon that embrace the sun without kim soo hyun.. he’s such talented actor, i like his acting since will it snow at christmas..
    and for our chunnie, the role in rooftop prince more suitable for him and i would like to see chunnie with han ji min than han ga in.. i know this woman is pretty but there is something about her acting is botter me..

  2. Sigh… This is an epic role but he declined it again just like the lead role for the movie “Punch”.T___T
    I believe YC would’ve been able to pull off this character since YC’s born for sageuk dramas. Oh well! I’ll support whatever choice he makes.

  3. i love this drama & truly kim soo hyun really shine in his role as the king.how i wish yuchun had taken it but well it was not meant for our yuchun.i just hope rooptop prince is a good romcom so people will gonna watch it.YUCHUN fighting.

  4. i believe that Jung Eun Gwol thinks of yoochun while making this novel…kekeke^^.. mid twenties, saeguk, good looks–>hey its so PYC!..

    im just so happy that Chunnie gets bigtime offers like this one.. only proves that he’s now among the A-list actors of his generation..

  5. Yuchun is very popular, I believe nearly every single drama will send him offer, and the offers he declined can pile up a small hill which might include a few great chances like “The Moon that Embraces the Sun”. As a famous actor, this kind of situation always happen.

  6. What might work for one person doesn’t mean it would work for another. Yoochun’s acting might have improved but I think Rooftop Price is more suitable for him. He needs more experience before he can do serious drama like this one. Yoochun must have reason for not choosing this drama. I have faith in Yoochun’s choice. He has always been a careful guy. Good luck to Yoochun’s new drama *o*

  7. Why are they bringing it up? Maybe he declined because MBC didn’t treat him well during MR. I think it’s good he declined. The kid actors make the adults seem less talented. LOL.

      • They said the role of Han Ga In was first offered to Moon Geun Young but when her agency heard that Kim Soo Hyun will be the male lead, MGY’s agency rejected it. Apparently, MGY’s agency did not think of Kim Soo Hyun as a big star.

      • Oh really?? But he will become a big star cos of this drama’s success. Maybe MGY is regretting now. I heard MGY is a bit arrogant. She doesn’t like to work with idols too.

      • @nicoleyt
        Really? Isn’t Jang Geun Suk considered an idol too since he’s always in the list for idol polls? How come she did not reject JGS then? Kim Soo Hyun’s lucky to get this role. I just wonder why Yoochun rejected it.

      • @pian JGS is not an idol.He is an actor in the first place. I’m talking about those idol turned actors. I think YC rejected it cos he doesn’t want to be typecasted since he’s already done the lead role in saeguk??? Anyway I’m glad he rejected it. I have always wanted to see him in a rom com and I really like Rooftop Prince’s storyline.

      • @nicoleyt
        I see. I used to like JGS but I just find him ridiculous now.
        That’s the stigma the previous idols turned actors inflicted on themselves. I hope YC has diminished some of it with his track record as an actor now.

      • I use to love JGS too, I still like him, but his dramas now-a-days are not as deep(not serious enough), too idolish. His acting went from serious to not so serious.

      • I think the way Kim Soo Hyun and Yuchun are choosing roles is similar – by the character that they want to play – that they know they can do it well. If MGY is choosing by what is best for her career, she will make mistakes like this.

      • Another idol drama for him? Maybe he makes more money from them, he certainly became more popular because of “idol drama”. I hope Chun’s drama comes out better than theirs ^^.

  8. If he gets all these big offers, I wonder how popular YC is now as an actor in Korea…. It amazes me that he did not start from the bottom (supporting roles) when he debuted as an actor.

    • I sincerely think YC more fit in “Rooftop Prince” than the Moon. You know, if YC take anothesar saeguk he will be marked as actor with same streotype. Same saeguk drama type.
      On the other hand, Rooftop Prince is different. There’s romcom n fantasy elements in the drama. Moreover, YC more fit to be a crown prince instead king.
      I’m happy he will take saeguk drama with romcom inside it. We are dying to see YC in romcom. I’ll waiting for RP, can’t wait for March 🙂

  9. The whole time I’ve been watching this drama, I have been wondering why they didn’t offer that role to Yuchun. His name would have made it a sure success after SKKS. I already figured it out that this was the same author without anyone telling me. The feel of it is so similar. I think Yuchun will do better as a prince than as a king, and Kim Soo Hyun really is perfect as the king. It is the way it should be.

    I would like to say that this drama’s success is on the foundation of SKKS. The audience is already familiar with this kind of fusion historical drama, which nobody was when SKKS was aired. It took a long time for everybody to warm up to it, so the ratings weren’t so great when it first aired.

    • Yes but it’s SKKS that had a lasting effect on viewers. It’s such a huge drama now. This goes to show that high ratings do not equate to a success of a drama. SKKS was that EPIC!

  10. I am not sure why YC rejected this drama. I am only looking forward to Rooftop Prince. I am only hoping that YC drama is a hit!

    What does Rom Com mean?

  11. Just noticed that Kim Soo Hyun was one of the 3 Best New Actor awards that Yuchun gave out at the KBS Drama Wards last December. I didn’t know who he was then.

  12. I love all the actors that were a possibility for this drama ^^ Park Si Hoo was AMAZING in The Princess’ Man and of course Chun and Song JoongKi were awesome in SKKS as well~ I’m seriously addicted to sageuk dramas now and I think Kim Soohyun does a great job at delivering his role ^^ Now I’ll just be waiting for Chun’s new drama 😀

  13. Man, I was about to say Yoochun was fit for the role because he was successful with his role in Sungkyunkwan Scandal before reading the news but after reading it….DAMN, the novel was written by the same person who wrote SKK. But can’t wait for Rooftop Prince. Although they should’ve also considered Yoo Ah In but guess he’s booked, too. The leading actors from SKKS are all my faves! All 4 of em.

  14. MoonSun didn’t appeal to me that much. Guess I am in the minority. But anyway, think it is better that he opted for Rooftop since it combines both sageuk and modern. It is in the modern drama department that Yoochun needs to establish himself. Everybody knows that he can do a sageuk well. I don’t think it is my Chun bias, but after watching some sageuks with my otherwise fav actors who didn’t look the part in a sageuk, I applaud Chun all the more. I think this is a more challenging role since he has to really traverse two centuries and Yoochun is someone who loves challenges.

  15. I only recognized the leading lady but haven’t seen the drama yet..still struggling to finish my ‘tree with deep root’ on dramacrazy coz i’m watching through my netbook & internet connection at home always testing my patient..huhu..

Leave a Reply

