[NEWS] 120207 JYJ’s Junsu opens up about being a musical star

JYJ member Kim Junsu who has built a strong fan base in Korea as well as overseas is now being featured in his third musical.

He took a different route from his fellow member Park Yoochun and Kim Jaejoong who opted to star in drama series. He explained his choice for going into musicals instead by saying, “There’s a unique charm to musicals that’s different from concerts.” Also, he liked the challenge of expressing the art of acting through music.

It is also a genre that he came to know during the most difficult time in his life, after leaving his former group TVXQ.

The singer, whose first musical was ‘Mozart‘ back in 2010 earned has reached higher heights than anyone had anticipated. Tickets for the musicals sold out due to his appearance, and he seemed to channel all of his anxiety and pent up emotions towards his former agency into this musical, and his acting became that much more natural and passionate.

‘Mozart’ was a project that I took on during the most difficult period in my life, and because of that, it is one that I will never be able to forget as long as I live,” he said.

He didn’t need to think twice about being in his current musical. It was a new project by Sylvester Levay, the composer behind the ingenious music of ‘Mozart’, the musical that Junsu feels so attached to.

This third musical is none other than ‘Elisabeth‘, a musical equally emotional and shocking as ‘Mozart’.

‘Elisabeth’ is a musical about Queen Elisabeth that comes from a royal family in Hasburg, and Kim Junsu plays the role of ‘ambassador of death’, Tod. Once Elisabeth marries Austrian emperor Franz Joseph, she continually experiences discord and tension with her mother in law. Her free will and freedom feels threatened and Tod who sees this tempts her to go to a world where she can experience true and perfect peace along with freedom.

It must have been difficult for Junsu to act in this musical as he does not have a real, concrete character but he remarked that it was easier for him to freely express himself because of that very same reason.

I didn’t think the character fit well with my past experiences and my personal style,” he said. “It was also a bit intimidating at first because of the fact that I was portraying death itself. But Sylvester Levay told me that because I play a transcendental role in the musical, to just be more like my actual self.”

Although he is starring in the musical alongside big names in the industry such as Song Chang Eui as well as Ryu Jung Han, Junsu will stand out with his youthful energy and use his experience as a dance artist in the musical. The role of ‘death’ in the musical has freedom to taken on different personalities depending on the actor, and Junsu is determined to take full advantage of that. He will dance more than others, and take this as an opportunity to show his fans a new side of himself.

And although this is already his third musical, he still feels a bit of lack in confidence. He is afraid of making mistakes, and afraid that he will inconvenience the other professionals on stage with him.

I think I’m getting a little closer to becoming a real actor,” he said. “I want to show people that I can do more than just sell tickets. It’s something I need to work on. I want to be both a successful singer and an actor. I guess I want to become like Cho Seung Woo who goes back and forth so naturally from the stage to the small-screen.”

When he builds 40-50 years of experience, the singer would also like to star in major musicals such as ‘Les Miserables‘ as well as ‘Jesus Christ Superstar‘. He also would like to expand, writing and composing songs. Interestingly enough, he also evoked laughs by randomly admitting he would also like to put together an international celebrity soccer team.

Source & Image: NoCutNews via Nate
Credit: Allkpop
Shared by: JYJ3

36 thoughts on “[NEWS] 120207 JYJ’s Junsu opens up about being a musical star

  1. “I think I’m getting a little closer to becoming a real actor,” he said. “I want to show people that I can do more than just sell tickets. It’s something I need to work on. I want to be both a successful singer and an actor. I guess I want to become like Cho Seung Woo who goes back and forth so naturally from the stage to the small-screen.”

    Junsu u chose a special path,I will wait for u to go back and forth from stage to small-screen.

  2. There is something about Junsu that honestly makes me believe that whatever he puts his mind to and whatever he focuses on he will achieve it. I think this about all of JYJ but especially about Junsu.
    I think from the time he was younger and he had problems with his voice after puberty he has this inner steel which allows him to achieve any goal he sets his mind on!

    I’m sure this Musical will be another one where Junsu showcases his talents!
    Junsu Hwaiting! JYJ Hwaiting!

    • I am always still amazed and left in awe just knowing that Junsu is hand picked by the composer himself… that is such an honor.

      Levay is such a fanboy… but at the same time, must see something in Junsu to push for him so much and gave him praise.

  3. OMG
    he said. “It was also a bit intimidating at first because of the fact that I was portraying death itself.

    يمثل الموت نفسه هالشي جدا لا ادري ماذا اقول

  4. “and he seemed to channel all of his anxiety and pent up emotions towards his former agency into this musical, and his acting became that much more natural and passionate.”
    So the musical was your “shock absorber” , true to life experience is really a great teacher and influence.
    I’m very happy and proud for Junsu, against all odds, he has done so many great things that he really loves.

    “he also evoked laughs by randomly admitting he would also like to put together an international celebrity soccer team.”
    why not…a singer/composer/producer/musical actor and an international celebrity soccer player and you can always put JaeChun’s names on the official list of players even as “ghost players” only,lol.

    • I just watched Su’s Levay Concert on DVD…awesome. I waited so long to get it cos’ I thought the Mozart performances might be boring but I was so wrong. It came with Eng subs so I could understand the singing and the sound quality was so much better than Youtube. Songs were beautiful and meaningful. I was amazed that Su could sing so many difficult songs one after another and while dancing/jumping around. His acting was really good.

      “channel all of his anxiety and pent up emotions towards his former agency into this musical, and his acting became that much more natural and passionate.”
      This is true. The storyline and some of the lyrics of Mozart seemed to speak directly about Su’s situation with SM – controlling/unappreciative father, being forced to produce music for others, searching for true self and living for music.

      • he barely had time when he san those songs in his first mozart musical he fascinated the director and staff that he remembered the lines and role in such a short while. now he has more time to prepare for musicals but that very first musical not only was there barely any time if i recall correctly it was just two weeks and he had filming in Australia and u know how tight the emotional situation was with the realization of the banning settling in. it was like a last attempt to throw him out , of course am not saying about the musical side or anyone its just a coincidence they needed an actor ASAP , if he had failed to succeed in his first musical they won’t forgive him and never give him another chance to do future musicals and the irony is he had so very poor time to prepare it could have been a week or two, and he’s the main character and had all those longs and difficult songs to master. he is what the word for it i can’t find it but i’ll say he’s excellent .

  5. I would love, love for Junsu to sing in Les Miserables some day. He would do such a great job as Marius even now, singing the heck out of “Empty Chairs at Empty Tables.” But first–Xiahtod! Break a leg, Junsu.

  6. Prince Charming Jun you are so handsome, and i tell you the heart aches will come to pass. This is a preparation for bigger and better things to come.

  7. Yes Junsu an International Soccer Team will be a power House, with guys from Europe, Africa , Asia, North and South America and Australia lets Play Soccer. Ho la la

  8. Oh Junsu, I feel there is a whole lot more waiting for you. I’m glad you chose this path as well. You are so suited for it. I too watched the dvd for the concert and came away thinking, you are made for this! The natural talent you have will not fade. You love doing this so much! And your fans love watching you doing it! Stay strong young brother and keep on growing!

    • hi there Bafy baby, how are uz @u@

      true true what u said u know his field in the university is the musical field #u# i didn’t hear he graduated though must have postponed it because of his schedules but i don’t really know .

      • I’m doing fine @Pierrot. Hope you are well too. I’m not sure what his status is regarding school. I sometimes get the feeling, that for most of the folks in the ‘idol’ world, a school resume is more a form of function. Not to denigrate their abilities, but having the time to actually do the work, while running your a** ragged with the hectic schedules they endure? For the average person out there who has to work and go to school FT, that is still a tough road to hoe. I seriously have my doubts about how many actually do finish.

      • @JAEmyhoneybear

        I still think JS is a newbie, but a very talented newbie. He has the chops and each production sees him doing better and better. I don’t think even he knows how good he can be. 😉

  9. i knew it
    he totally born to be a musical actors
    his loves to the musical world, soccer world and as a singer are really big
    i really salute of him for manage his time and concentration also his effort for those activities very well

  10. I have every confidence in Junsus’ musical abilities; not just to sell tickets! Grown men wept in the TOH audience; you could hear it on the audio. Jae and Chun were moved by Su’s performance and praised him in the COO video. This is another stage you were meant to be on, Junsu. Keep growing and getting better. You will do well 😀

  11. In Junsu’s Musical Concert with Levay, they had Uwe make a guest appearance and performed with the korean musical actors and actress…

    i wish one day Levay can invite Junsu to Europe and have do a special Mozart performance for the audience, like a cultural exchange for musical actors

  12. he is truly an amazing person. so proud of him and how hard he has worked at this. he will succeed in anything he tries. i truly love this man>

  13. “It is also a genre that he came to know during the most difficult time in his life, after leaving his former group TVXQ.”
    I don’t think he leaves the former group, he leaves that evil SM company .
    I wish I could have chance to watch him acting musical .

  14. “Interestingly enough, he also evoked laughs by randomly admitting he would also like to put together an international celebrity soccer team.” lol Junsu and his love for soccer 😛

    btw after watching the rehearsal performance video, I really want to watch the musical live! >.<

  15. “I can do more just sell tickets”. You can do a lot more than that, Junsu. Every time seeing whatever you perform, I feel “Omg Sun! how much amazing Kim Junsu can be”

  16. Pingback: [NEWS] 120207 JYJ’s Junsu opens up about being a musical star « xll3n

Leave a comment